What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?

on

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Ah. The age old question. Well.

In first grade, I wanted to be a magician. That is, until I realized that “magic” isn’t exactly something you can do for a living. 

In second grade I would have sworn to anyone I wanted to be a veterinarian like my dad…. but then I discovered that I have a mild fear of birds among other animals. 

In third grade I really admired my teacher and I wanted to be just like her but then I learned that teachers do a lot for a little and that just wasn’t cool to me. 

In fourth grade I desperately wanted to be an astronaut. Space was just so interesting and I loved the idea of it. But I outgrew that idea pretty quickly. 

In seventh grade I became OBSESSED with Criminal Minds and I proudly professed that I wanted to study forensic science and do something in that field; I wasn’t sure what. That dream lasted until I took Chemistry in my sophomore year of high school and realized I’m not very good at the kind of science I would need for that job. 

Now, nearing the end of high school, I’m left feeling a little lost. How am I supposed to decide what I want to be NOW when I’ve changed my mind so many times before? I’m going to keep growing and changing and learning new things about myself and discovering new interests and it doesn’t make sense to me to have to choose something and stick to it. For now, my heart is set on doing something in English. Maybe I’ll be a writer or a professor, or an editor. I don’t know. My options are open and there is so much time for me to learn about myself and to learn about my capabilities and what the world has to offer me. 

What do I want to be when I grow up? I don’t know, as long as I’m happy that’s all that matters. 

One Comment Add yours

  1. strugglesofcollegecom says:

    Awesome post! I feel the same way sometimes…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

