You Can Do Anything

Late last month I applied to be part of a selective program at my future college. The application process included completion of 2 essays, a resume, and a phone call interview. The essays were pretty simple to write but I was SO nervous for the phone call interview. The day of the phone call, I pretty much stressed about it all day. They told me not to worry about it and to just be myself but honestly I feel like I have maybe as much personality as a brick wall so I was really worried that the phone call interview would be the deal breaker and I really didn’t want that to be the case. The interview was about 20 minutes long and I thought it went pretty badly. I stuttered a lot and I felt like I was providing inadequate answers to the questions I was being asked. When the call was over I felt really bad about how it had gone and pretty much gave up all hope that I would be admitted to the program.  BUT. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that by some miracle I had actually been accepted to the program. Despite the horrendous phone call interview and the fact that I felt that I was pretty much only a good applicant on paper, I was accepted to the program.

My acceptance to the program really got me thinking though. A lot of the time we as humans doubt ourselves. We doubt that we have the ability to pursue something that we really want. We believe that just because we make mistakes or fail at certain things, that is the end of the road for us. We don’t take the time to recognize our strengths and instead only focus on our weaknesses. We choose not to go after something that we want because we feel that we will not be good enough or smart enough or just generally enough to fill that position. Everyone takes on this mindset sometimes but personally, I think it’s important to always strive to see the best parts of yourself. It’s important to have faith in yourself and to motivate yourself to chase the things that you want without fear of not being enough. If you can’t motivate yourself it always helps to have someone around who has complete and utter faith in you and who believes in you. It helps to have someone who will support your dreams and desires no matter how crazy they may seem. Basically, don’t be so hard on yourself and doubt your ability to do what you want. You can do anything you set your mind to even if you fail time and time again.

Leave a Reply

