Here’s The Thing

on

I love the idea of going out and making friends. I love the idea of being fearless and willing to try anything and everything. I love the idea of being confident and calm and just taking life in stride. But here’s the thing: that’s not the way I am. 

I know I’m really in my head and I have a tendency to overthink and stress about the things that I shouldn’t. I know that I am good at being a friend and not as good at making friends because I can never be certain of the way that people will see me. I know that when I get too stressed or worried or anxious I tend to shut down and it’s almost like my head is in the clouds and my thoughts are running wild and pretty much every worst case scenario is on my mind. 

But here’s another thing: I don’t want to let this control me. I don’t want to just accept that I’m sometimes prone to overthinking and becoming anxious over the little things. I want to work with it. I want to know myself and my limits and push the boundaries of my comfort zone. I want to try all new things despite my worries and connect with new people. I don’t want to just let myself go through life with my head in the clouds and my thoughts being all over the place and my experiences being limited because of how my thoughts work. 

It’s not going to be easy and I’m not always going to succeed at pushing my comfort zone and not letting my worries control me BUT the least I can do is try and I’m willing to do that. 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Elm says:

    I can tell that you’re going to work at it and that’s amazing πŸ™‚ Just keep on trying to be positive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Camille says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kurtis says:

    Hey Camille, I can identify with this post. I’m trying to break down my barriers of fear in my life as well. I have 2 experiences/devices I like to draw on that might help you. First, if you have ever have tried to, literally, land a great jump in done it with a heart of fear; then, your legs probably became weak at take off and you came up short. In certain cases, I can draw and that failure to drop my fear because I know if I act with fear I’m guaranteed to come up short, but if I drop the fear I at least have a chance of succeeding.

    The second experience is from school. I had a huge load of work that seemed impossible a few different times. I was stressing over how to get it done. I was overthinking the consequences of failure like you stated above. Then, I just paused and said to myself, “First, I’ll ask God for help. Next, I’ll rank my work in prioritized order. Then, I will make an honest effort knock everything out in order of priority. If I fail after all of that; I can rest at ease because I have done everything that I could”. Everything panned out pretty well for me; so, that experience was huge for building my faith.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Camille says:

      That was really nicely put! It’s nice to hear from someone who is also trying to overcome barriers of fear or worry in life. Thank you for sharing your experiences and how you worked to overcome the fear. I think that approaching the intimidating aspects of life in the way you did, asking God for help, prioritizing things by importance, working not to act with fear, will definitely be methods that I can try out! Thanks again for your comment! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

