New Experiences

New experiences are scary. That isn’t true for everyone, some people thrive when they’re undergoing new experiences but for me, having to experience something new is a little bit intimidating.

In less than a week I will begin a new chapter of my life. I will be in a new environment surrounded by new people, new challenges, new ideas, new everything. As much as I want to be excited about this change in my life, I can’t help but be a little anxious and intimidated by the thought of it. Part of me is so excited for the newness of everything and part of me wants to back out immediately and pretend that this is something that is not going to happen so soon.

I never really understood why the thought of new experiences freaked me out so much. I mean, isn’t life all about trying new things and meeting new people? But every time I knew that I would be put taken from my comfort and routine and thrust into a new one, I would panic a little bit. At the moment, sitting here writing this, less than a week away from one of the biggest changes in my life to date, I feel oddly calm. I know that as soon as I shut the laptop, get in bed, and try to sleep, my mind will begin racing with all the things that could go wrong and all the things that I am bound to despise about the experiences. I know that these thoughts will steal precious sleep from me and I know that eventually I will be able to calm my mind but I will still worry about these things again tomorrow. There are times when this sort of incessant anxiety of what is to come gets really annoying. I have dreams and goal for myself. I have things that I want to accomplish before a certain age or things I want to try or things that I’m convinced I can’t try because I’ll overthink it.

I don’t want to let my worries about new experiences hinder me in any way from living life to the fullest. I want to embrace and acknowledge my worries and understand that maybe there are things I could be worried about and maybe it makes total sense to worry about these things BUT I should still get out of my own head, accept the newness of the situation, and enjoy it as best I can. That being said, if I want to one day go to the moon, I will make sure that I do just that despite my worries about that new experience. I won’t hold myself back…well…at least I’ll try not to.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I am impressed by your writing ability. Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

