New Year’s Resolutions

I’ve never really been a fan of New Year’s resolutions. I think people tend to say they’ll do something and then get hit with reality and the challenges of committing to something for a whole 365 days and then they realize that maybe a New Year’s resolution isn’t so easy after all. I don’t think there’s a problem with changing your mind about your goal halfway through the year or a quarter of the way into the year or even a day or two into the year, but giving up on a goal entirely is kind of disappointing.

Something that 2016 has taught me is that if you give up entirely on your goal or your New Year’s resolution, you’re just paving the way for other people to get what you always dreamed of. For example, I always wanted to be more consistent on this blog and I never did it. I never got around to writing as much as I could have because I insisted that there were other ways for me to spend my time. That being said, when I saw other people creating their successful blogs, it made me envious because I wanted that and I knew that the only reason I didn’t have it was because I had given up on one goal I had set at the start of the year. So this upcoming year, 2017, try setting a specific goal that you can maintain and one that you are determined to stick with no matter the challenges.

Leave a Reply

