The College Experience

Before I got to college people always told me that college would be the best years of my life and that I would have so much fun. I took their words to be fact sight unseen. Now that I’m actually in college, I have to say that I disagree with that statement. I don’t think college will be the best years of my life. Don’t get me wrong, there are certainly fun things about college like going to football games and meeting people who are wildly different from me and joining in on specific university traditions but the truth is, the majority of the time is spent working my butt off to ensure my GPA is high and my grades meet my standards. Sometimes this means I miss out on the things I love or I stress to the point of tears and if these times are supposed to be the best years of my life, then that means life must generally suck.

I have to say though, I think the best years of my life will come after college. The best years will be when I get to work in the field of my choice and dedicate my life to doing the things I love. The best years will be the years when I have a place of my own and income I can live off and the freedom to do what I choose without worrying about due dates or final exams. College is going to prepare me to do everything that I want to do at some point in my life but these years that I spend here will not be the greatest years of my life because I am determined to do so much more in the years to come.

 

Leave a Reply

