A Little Piece of My Mind

I just realized my blog turned a year old a few days ago!!!

In honor of one year of blogging, I’m going to tell you a little about why I started my blog and why I called it A Little Piece of My Mind.

A year ago, my mom told me about one of her coworkers’ daughters was a journalism major at some school and had started a blog. According to her coworker, her daughter’s blog helped her to get a job because she maintained it during college and people really liked her writing. I never met the girl and can’t remember where she worked, but I know that inspired me to start a blog. I was really hesitant to start a blog, I didn’t know what to write about. I mean… who wants to read the ramblings of a teenage girl? Plus, at the time, I was a senior in high school with the most boring life and nothing profound to write about. I kept the idea circulating in my head for a while, but as an aspiring English major I knew I wanted to write even if no one was reading it. So A Little Piece of My Mind was born!

Why the name A Little Piece of My Mind though, right? What does that even mean? Well, when trying to come up with a good name for my blog, I came across a blog called something like Peace of Mind or something like that and while I thought that was creative and a nice name to use for a  blog that includes a bunch of ramblings, the name did already belong to someone else. I kept thinking of variations and I came up with A Little Piece of My Mind because that’s what I would be sharing with the internet: a little piece of everything that goes on in my mind.

A year has passed since I published my first post and I am really happy with how much progress I have made on my blog and how much fun I am having sharing posts here. I hope that everyone loves their blog as much as I do and that you never take blogging too seriously.

Leave a Reply

