5 Ways to Beat a Lack of Inspiration

For anyone who doesn’t know, my main creative outlet is photography. I really like looking at other people’s posts on Instagram and coming up with fun little shoots to do with my friends and family and even by myself. The problem is, I recently had to send my lens in for repair and for a week or two, I will be without my favorite creative outlet. As a result of this, I’ve been feeling super uninspired so I decided to come up with and share a few ways to beat these feelings. Let me know if you have any other things you do to overcome a lack of inspiration!

  1. Make a short-term buckletlist:

Are there things you want to and can do now or tomorrow or any time that you feel uninspired? For example, if you’ve always wanted to try out SoulCycling at your local gym, add that to your short-term bucket list. If you’ve wanted to change up your routine and try out a new coffee shop, do that. For me, I want to write more for my blog and maybe try drawing, so that’s what I’ll be doing in the meantime. A short-term bucket list is meant to expose you to new things, places, and people that could bring that inspiration back into your life!

  1. Phone a friend:

The coolest thing about meeting people and forming bonds with people is that they will always be able to provide you with an idea. For example, one of my friends is an artist. She might come up with one word themes for her work and then try to envision what she wants to create to fit within the theme. I can always phone her and ask for a theme to write about or take photos of and listen to her ideas for her own artwork as a means of inspiration. On the other hand, my boyfriend is not artistic and yet talking to him about things like world issues or his interests works as a means of inspiration because he offers such a different perspective.

  1. Take a second to daydream… or take a nap:

Personally, my brain can’t function when I’m overloaded with a desire to create but have zero ideas. My brain also can’t function when I don’t sleep. A good way to combat that is to take a second to daydream. Sit in a chair and stare out the window. Lay in your bed and stare at the ceiling or fall asleep. Whatever you do, let your mind go wherever it takes you. At some point that might be a really random question, at other points you might feel like your mind is leading you to envision your future, you might even feel like your mind wants to venture into the past, whatever happens you can use it as inspiration to create. Dreaming about something awesome? Recreate that in your art or tell the story through your writing. Share what your mind takes you to even if you think it’s no good.

  1. Podcasts, music, and more

Music and podcasts give you the opportunity to listen to something that someone else created. You’re able to listen to someone showcasing their talents or sharing a message that resonates with you. Taking a second to understand what the podcast or song is saying or perhaps what type of feeling it is trying to create is a great source of inspiration. Even if the message you hear is something you can’t exactly relate to, it’s a good thing to immerse yourself in the creations of others.

  1. Read, read, and read

Reading is such a good way to get your inspiration back. Read other people’s blog posts to see what they’re writing about. Read that book you’ve been meaning to read for months. Read anything you can get your hands on. Inspiration comes from the most random places and reading is a great way to find something. I know that for me, reading can make me think about situations or ideas that I might never have considered if I hadn’t read that article or that book.

 

Hopefully these tips have helped you overcome your lack of inspiration. What sorts of things do you do to overcome feeling uninspired? What’s your main creative outlet?

One Reply to “5 Ways to Beat a Lack of Inspiration”

Leave a Reply

