How to be HAPPY

So, lately I’ve been thinking that happiness is something that is really hard to pinpoint because in everyday life it’s really easy to confuse being happy with just… BEING.

Part of what makes happiness so hard to define is that the expectation for happiness is like this level of elation, you know? Like the really happy moments in your life where you can’t contain yourself and you’re smiling a ton and you just want to scream from the rooftops because you’re just SO happy. But that’s not the only definition of happiness, especially not if you take a second to think about all the small things that make you feel happy. If you live your life expecting every moment of happiness to feel like you just won the lottery you’re going to be very unhappy.

That being said, this week I want to take a second to focus on happiness and what small things make me happy (and make you happy too). I want to reflect on why those things often go unnoticed and why it’s easy to say we’re not happy when we really could be if we appreciated the little things more.

For example, right now it is 10:21 PM, it’s raining, I’m in bed, I’m happy. I’m happy because I get the chance to sit here and type away on my laptop. I’m happy because the sound of rain is soothing and I know that the rain is going to help the plants that have dried out due to the severe heat we’ve been experiencing. I’m happy because I just got off the phone with friends I haven’t seen in a while and we plan to reunite. I’m happy because I get to SLEEP soon. I’m happy because even though there are things in my life that are stressing me out, I am surrounded by the best people and I am living a good life for the most part.

So, you want to know how to be happy? Appreciate the things you think are just normal or boring. Appreciate the people in your life and the opportunities you get. Appreciate the little things in your life even if they aren’t all 100% positive. That will make you happy.

 

One Reply to “How to be HAPPY”

Leave a Reply

