Tips for Mental, Physical, and Spiritual Wellness

I’ve been thinking a lot about personal wellness. For me, it’s taken a lot to get to where I am today and while I’m thankful for that journey and that struggle, I think it’s always good to reflect on it and evaluate the improvements even if they are minor improvements.

For the past maybe two years, I have been working on building up my self-confidence. Self-confidence is something that starts in the mind, in my opinion. It starts with you recognizing your own strengths and weaknesses and committing to working on yourself if you want to or committing to just accepting yourself and this is something I touched on earlier when I talked about self-love. Personally, building up my mental, physical, and spiritual health meant promising to myself that I would value my own fitness because body image was a difficult part of my life and it was impacting my mental health for a long time. I started spending 30 minutes working out for 6 days a week and these were rigorous workouts for me at least. I loved it and I thought everything was going fine with that path of improving my self-confidence until it wasn’t anymore. To say the least, something happened that took me out of doing these rigorous exercises for a month and a half. At first, my self-confidence was still at a high, I knew that I needed to recover and that was okay. I was willing to just take it easy until the recovery was complete, but then a couple weeks later, it all came crashing down on me. The one thing that was boosting my self-confidence for so long had been taken away from me and it was affect me in all areas of my wellness. Physically, spiritually, and mentally, I was having a hard time coping with this new situation in my life and what made it even harder was seeing everything that I could have been doing had I not been in this situation.

The world is constantly reminded of how difficult it is for someone to reach out and let other know what they’re feeling when they feel isolated in their own mind and thoughts. Mental health is something that is getting a lot more attention now, but is still so difficult for a lot of people to understand. With that comes physical and spiritual health. Everything is tied together and it’s hard to cope when you’re feeling like you’re at your wits end. Because I know that I’m not the only one who deals with the ups and downs of mental, physical, and spiritual wellness, I wanted to touch on a few tips to cope when you’re feeling down.

  • Make it a priority to be kind to yourself
    • So this is easier said than done sometimes and that’s okay. A lot of the time when you’re feeling down all you need to do is be kind to yourself. If you’re in a rut or just going through some bumps in the road, it’s important to take time to realize the great things you have accomplished. For me, that’s taking time to think about how hard I have worked to get to where I am in building my self-confidence and now looking for other outlets where my mental, physical, and spiritual wellness can be improved. For you, it might mean recognizing all the hard work you’ve put into your business or all the amazing things you’ve accomplished in terms of making yourself a new person. Whatever it is, it’s beneficial for you to be kind to yourself.
  • Be patient
    • Getting to a point in your life where you feel down about your own wellness is tough. Sometimes it feels like it will never get better and you’re just going to feel down on yourself for the rest of eternity, but that’s not the case. Patience is difficult especially when you just want to go back to that peak level of mental and spiritual and physical wellness, but remind yourself that it takes time. Everyone hits bumps in the road, everyone feels down, if it takes you a little longer to overcome that, it’s not your fault.
  • Focus on what you can do, not what you should do
    • When you’re feeling down, it’s really, REALLY easy to get in your own head and say, “Oh my goodness, I should be doing this,” and “Maybe I would feel better if I was doing that, but I just can’t get myself to do it.” Like I said earlier, a lot of your wellness and self-confidence starts in your mind. Don’t get in your head and focus on what you think you should be doing, instead look at what you find it in yourself to do. If you can’t find it in you to get out of bed, take a rest day. Thinking about all the things you think you should be doing won’t help you. It’s okay to take a break. It’s okay to do everything on your to-do list. Just focus on you and what you feel like your capabilities are.
  • Let yourself feel however you feel
    • This is the most important tip. Don’t invalidate your feelings. Listen to what is going on in your head and in your heart. Talk to someone you trust will listen to you and validate you. Recognize that your mental, physical, and spiritual wellness need caring for too. It’s hard to try and deal with something when you’re constantly invalidated, so please, find yourself a good set of friends or even reach out to a family member for a listening ear. Recognize that not every day will be amazing and wonderful and check up on yourself. Are you doing okay today? Do you need someone to talk to? Do you need to remind yourself that your feelings are valid? Let yourself experience every emotion and embrace it because in the end, you will only get stronger. Today's Shine

I hope that your wellness improves tenfold and that you find a way to embrace everything you’re going through. With that, help others. Let them unload onto you their feelings. Be their anchor and find an anchor of your own. Continue this chain of improving your health because it’s important.

Leave a Reply

