In The Moment

I went to my first concert in 2014. I was going to see One Direction at the Raymond James Stadium in Tampa. I remember being really excited but also wanting to play it cool and I actually succeeded… Then the band came out and the adrenaline kicked in and my attempts at playing it cool weren't working anymore. I didn't cry, I didn't scream at the top of my lungs, I just stood there with my phone recording and hands shaking. I was finally about to hear live the music I'd only ever heard through my headphones and I was about to see the guys behind the music I loved with my own two eyes. 3 years later I still remember that night. I still remember the feeling of watching them perform. I can still go back through the hundreds of photos I took and reminisce on how maybe I took a little too many photos.

Since then, I've been 8 other concerts. Each one has been special in its own way but the concert I went to last night really impacted me.

I attended the Illuminate Tour and the age range for the concert was all over the place. You could find anyone there from little girls to grown men, but there was this little boy who really stuck out to me. He was sitting a few rows behind me, standing on his seat to see the performance onstage. He sang along quietly, almost like he didn't want anyone to know he was singing, but his face gave away how emotional he was. This little boy didn't have a phone in his hands, he wasn't watching to make sure his latest post uploaded on social media or checking out what his friends were doing right now, he was just singing along. He was mesmerized by the performance and I think he had a different level of appreciation for the concert than a lot of people did. The look on his face made me so glad for the opportunity to appreciate the music and the performances of the night.

I had a phone and a camera with me, but after seeing that little boy I was so compelled to put my gadgets down and just live in the moment. So I did. I put my phone down. I sang at the top of my lungs and danced like no one was watching. I probably looked crazy but it didn't matter if I did because my heart was so full. I payed attention to the graphics and had time to wonder about the people behind the concert effects. I listened the musicians onstage and took time to notice the way their artistry impacted the people around me. I saw the people who cried during specific songs and the people who didn't know a single word And in the end, I had an amazing time. No one will ever be able to ruin those memories for me. I will never be able to experience the moments from that concert again but I'm glad that it will forever live in my memory.

If you ever have the opportunity to go to a concert, PLEASE do it. Go for the music you love. Go for the experience. Go for the sake of a night out. Go for your friends. Take your pictures but also look around and be in the moment. It's good for the soul, trust me.

Leave a Reply

